• -399 Days to go

IAAF World U18 Nairobi 2017 Organization

The organization of this event is being spear headed by two committee’s as gazette by the Cabinet secretary sports Culture and the Art. The two committees are:

  • Steering committee
  • Local organizing Committee

Steering committee

  • Cabinet Secretary, Sports, Culture and the Arts.
  • Principal Secretary, Sports, Culture and the Arts.
  • Deputy Governor, Nairobi County.
  • Secretary. Sports.
  • Chairman, Sports Kenya.
  • President, Athletics Kenya.
  • Chairman, National Olympic Committee of Kenya.

Local Organizing Committee

The functions of the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) are to offer the best possible organizational framework meeting international standards for hosting of the World Championships in Nairobi. The membership to this committee as appointed and Gazeted by the Cabinet Secretary sports Culture and the Arts is as follows:-

  • Lt (Rtd) Gen Jackson Tuwei (Chairman)
  • Maina Kamau (Vice Chairman)
  • Ann Lokidor (Vice Chairman)
  • Mwangi Muthee (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Jinaro Kibet (Head of Legal)
  • Faith Jepkemoi Bett (Assistant Head of Legal)
  • Lawrence Monda (Director ICT)
  • Boniface Asiligwa (Assistant Director ICT)
  • Ibrahim Hussein (Director, Technical and Competitions)
  • Paul Mutwii (Assistant Director, Technical and Competitions)
  • Joseph Kibet (Director, Security)
  • Chris Mutungi (Director, Media and Broadcasting)
  • Nahum Okwiya (Assistant Director, Media and Broadcasting)
  • Stephen Njoroge Muthuma (Director, Finance)
  • Joseph Lagat (Director, Commercial and Marketing)
  • Sally Sia (Assistant Director, Commercial and Marketing)
  • Charles Owino (Director, Protocol and Hospitality)
  • Douglas Wakiihuri (Assistant Director Protocol and Hospitality)
  • Eng. Kinyua Wamugunda (Director, Transport)
  • Paul Ejore Ekeno (Assistant Director, Transport)
  • Dr Wario Guyo (Director, Accommodation)
  • Peter Angwenyi (Assistant Director, Accommodation)
  • Dr Jared Nyakiba (Director, Medical and Anti-Doping)
  • Dr Victor Bargoria (Assistant Director, Medical and Anti-Doping)
  • Diana Wambua (Director, Volunteers)
  • Susan Kamau (Assistant Director, Volunteers)