• -373 Days to go
New Look IAAF World Under-18 Championships Local Organising Committeee Gazetted

Sports Cabinet Secretary Hassan Wario introduces CEO of 2017 World Under-18 Athletics Championships Local Organising Committee Mwangi Muthee on April 29, 2016 at Kasarani

 Friday 30th December 2016

Cabinet Secretary for Sports, Culture and the Arts, Dr Hassan Wario Arero has announced a new-look IAAF World Under-18 Championships Local Organising Committee (LOC) that will run the global event to be held in Nairobi between July 11-16, 2017.

The announcement contained in Kenya Gazette Notice Number 5557 of 22nd July, 2016 listed the 26 officials if the LOC and revoked the appointment of nine others earlier named to the committee.

The full membership of the LOC are as follows:

  1. Lt (Rtd) Gen Jackson Tuwei (Chairman)
  2. Maina Kamau (Vice Chairman)
  3. Ann Lokidor (Vice Chairman)
  4. Mwangi Muthee (Chief Executive Officer)
  5. Jinaro Kibet (Head of Legal)
  6. Faith Jepkemoi Bett (Assistant Head of Legal)
  7. Lawrence Monda (Head of ICT)
  8. Boniface Asiligwa (Assistant Head ICT)
  9. Ibrahim Hussein (Director, Technical and Competitions)
  10. Paul Mutwii (Assistant Director, Technical and Competitions)
  11. Joseph Kibet (Director, Security)
  12. Chris Mutungi (Director, Media and Broadcasting)
  13. Nahum Okwiya (Assistant Director, Media and Broadcasting)
  14. Stephen Njoroge Muthuma (Director, Finance)
  15. Joseph Lagat (Director, Commercial and Marketing)
  16. Sally Sia (Assistant Director, Commercial and Marketing)
  17. Charles Owino (Director, Protocol and Hospitality)
  18. Douglas Wakiihuri (Assistant Director Protocol and Hospitality)
  19. Kinyua Wamugunda (Director, Transport)
  20. Paul Ejore Ekeno (Assistant Director, Transport)
  21. Dr Wario Guyo (Director, Accommodation)
  22. Peter Angwenyi (Assistant Director, Accommodation)
  23. Dr Jared Nyakiba (Director, Medical and Anti-Doping)
  24. Dr Victor Bargoria (Assistant Director, Medical and Anti-Doping)
  25. Diana Wambua (Director, Volunteers)
  26. Susan Kamau (Assistant Director, Volunteers)

The appointment of the following was revoked:

  1. Japhter Rugut
  2. Christopher Khaemba
  3. Isaac Kamande
  4. Mwanaulu Issa
  5. David Okeyo
  6. Muhammed Abdullahi
  7. Ibrahim Halakhe
  8. Fatuma Awaale
  9. John Francis Olinga Longole